top of page

21 Questions with Bootleg Rocstar

Fashion has always been a hallmark of Jamaican culture. The dapper, gold-toothed Rudeboys from the 60s, and glitzy, colour-coordinated kings and queens from the 90s dancehall scene have paved the way for the bold expressions of today's fashion forward and (slightly rebellious) Jamaicans. I had the chance to chat with 24-year-old fashion stylist and creative director Neko Kelly, also known as Bootleg Rocstar.

KM: When did you realize you had an interest in fashion?

Neko: Ever since I could remember. My family was always big on being well dressed and clean. Fashion has always been a major part of my life growing up, so much so that most of my childhood memories involve clothes and the events I wore them to, lol. But that's how I remember things, by outfits I wore.

KM: How did you get your start?

Neko: I started out styling my best friend for parties, so she was basically my muse and mannequin back then. Professionally, I got a push start being an assistant for a year for this stylist, Fidge Fletcher, who had done some decent amount of international work. I then ventured off on my own, penniless with a passion, and the mercy and love of God kept me going and I'm here right now still doing it.

KM: What was your “I reach” moment?

Neko: To be honest, I still haven't had that moment as yet. I don't think I ever will because I always feel like no matter what I've accomplished there's something bigger and greater that I need to get my hands on.

KM: How did “Bootleg Rocstar” come about?

Neko: I annoy myself every time I explain the name, but blah... I call myself Bootleg Rocstar for a number of reasons. I always say I'm a juxtaposition of my own self because I have a feminine side and I also have that edgy rude boy side. Also, people have this preconceived idea of who I am based off my social media antics or behaviour. They think I have tattoos and piercings or I'm this wild party boy but I'm really not. I'm lame as hell so don't be fooled by the occasional rude boy antics on Instagram. Finally, my idols are rock-stars so I'm trying to reach their level of impact and style. So for now I'm a "Bootleg Rocstar" and bootleg on my terms means aspiring. And oh! You know Rihanna gave me that name! She was explaining something similar in an interview about people having false idea of who she is or something like that and she said "I am such a bootleg rock-star." It was as if a light bulb turned on in my head because I could totally relate so I took that and made it my name/brand. But yea, those three explanations are represented by the name "Bootleg Rocstar". Hopefully it makes sense.

KM: Favorite “Bootleg Rocstar” moment/memory?

Neko: These questions making me think hard! Last time I thought about something this hard was when I couldn't decide if I should buy Schweppes or Ting. But my, fav BR moment was when this huge group of high school kids saw me at a plaza in Kingston and rushed over to me gushing about my Instagram and my work. A few even said I'm an inspiration to them and then they took like a million selfies with me. It was a very frightening but humbling experience.

KM: What are some of your biggest accomplishments so far?

Neko: Just being able to live my dream is the biggest accomplishment I could ever ask for.

KM: Who are your idols? Fashion or otherwise?

Neko: Fashion wise my idols are Rihanna, Lenny Kravitz, Olivier Rougsteing, Kim Kardashian, Jimmi Hendrix and Johnny Depp. Outside of fashion, Maya Angelou.

KM: Who is your dream person to work with?

Neko: Dream person to work with most definitely has to be Rihanna. She's lit in every area of her life and career. Runners up would be Balmain and Kim K.

KM: What is your dream job?

Neko: A Fashion Stylist, so I'm basically living the dream *hair flip*

KM: How do you describe your personal style?

Neko: My style is very eclectic. I pull inspirations from different eras and cultures but my style is mostly urban and edgy.

KM: Favorite places to shop locally or overseas? Brands? Designers?

Neko: Locally, menswear options aren't that much but lately I've really started digging Shop Neccessities and Fierce by Dre. For overseas, I'm a TopMan and Zara kinda guy with a little H&M sass.

KM: What’s the hardest part of your job? Best part?

Neko: Hardest part has to be trying to get certain pieces that I want for a shoot or client. Fashion in Jamaica is not as accessible as say in The Us or U.K. so yea that's an issue for me. The best part is always the results or finished product and seeing the client satisfied.

KM: Describe a day on the job

Neko: BUSY AS F*CK!

KM: What are your plans for the future? Where do you see yourself taking your styling career?

Neko: Plans for the future is just really to build my personal brand and master my craft. And I see myself being filthy rich! Philanthropic and styling for big companies and brands. Doing full day fittings with Rihanna, travelling to Paris fashion week with Kim K and losing count of the amount of Vogue covers I've styled and directed.

KM: Describe yourself in a sentence.

Neko: I slay.

KM: Do you prefer styling to creative direction?

Neko: Hm. I love both but styling is my first love and my bread and butter.

KM: How do you stay updated on current trends?

Neko: I don't. Trends annoy the hell out of me.

KM: What do you think is the biggest summer ‘17 fashion trend?

Neko: I see a lot of off-the-shoulder dresses and tops for women and printed satin or silk button ups for men.

KM: How do you feel about the fashion industry in Jamaica?

Neko: The fashion industry in Jamaica is lit right now! About 5 years ago, I use to think fashion designers were old, serious, boring people but us young people have rejuvenated the face and vibe of fashion and fashion design in Jamaica. There are stylists and photographers popping up everywhere and I love it! The industry out here gotta lot more miles to go but we will get there.

KM: What are your style/beauty essentials?

Neko: Most def have to have my skinny jeans and high top Converse. I can't function without them. For beauty, vitamins and moisturizer.

KM: What advice would you give to anyone trying to get into the industry?

Neko: Have confidence, wear long lasting deodorant and know your shit! You gotta have knowledge about the industry and the career path you wanna trod.

KM: What’s your favorite quote/personal motto?

Neko: Mannaz carry yuh through di worl'

Get more Bootleg Rocstar realness on Neko's social media:

Instagram: @bootlegrocstar

Email: bootlegrocstar@gmail.com

bottom of page