top of page

Summer Beauty Chat with Brittykatx

Flawless makeup is always in season, but let's face it; it gets a little tricky once the temperature skyrockets during the summer. I caught up with rising makeup artist Brittany Coke, also known as Brittykatx, to get to know her, and for makeup tips and tricks to keep us looking gorgeous all summer long.

KM: When/how did your love for makeup start?

Brittany: My love for makeup started in the 8th grade when I had decided to experiment with a little Elizabeth Arden sample makeup set that my mom had gotten as a free gift with one of her purchases. If I remember correctly, it contained a lipstick, small eyeshadow compact and a mirror. After that, I saved some of my lunch money and made my very first purchase - a silver and navy blue Avon eyeshadow and liquid eyeliner. What captivated me most about makeup wasn't just the fact that it can be used to enhance your feature but more so that it can be interpreted as a channel for art and for many means than one.

KM: Are you self taught or did you take classes?

BC: For many years (and even now) I used my free time to experiment and play around with makeup - utilizing color theory to see what colours worked and what didn't as well as trying to express myself creatively through different concepts and ideas I'd conjure. Some makeup look ideas even came to me in dreams and I'd wake up and get started on them immediately. By the time I was in 11th grade my dad urged me to go get certified as a makeup artist and that is where I got a bit of formal training but for the most part I am self taught.

KM: Where do you get your inspiration from?

BC: I get my inspiration from pretty much anywhere; from social media to nature. When I just started makeup I would practice by searching pics of birds online and trying to do a look based on their colours.

KM: What are the top summer makeup trends?

BC: Top summer makeup trend would have to be no foundation makeup. This trends every summer however because we all need to look good and feel comfortable in this godforsaken heat!

KM: Favorite summer lip?

BC: Favorite summer lip would have to be nude; you can't go wrong with nude.

KM: What are some sweat tips?

BC: My tips for sweating would be oil blocking primers and powders and just over all trying to keep yourself cool. There was a method that went viral couple months ago where persons were using antiperspirants as a primer before foundation to stop or reduce sweating...I have yet to give that a try.

KM: Give us some of your favorite makeup hacks.

BC: Favorite makeup hacks would have to be how I line my lips when using a light lip colour. I actually put the colour down first then draw my liner on top and smack to blend to get that perfect gradient. I find that to give a more subtle and seamless result. Another hack I do is I actually put the bundled eyelash singles on my lower lashes in three places - the inner corner, middle and out corner - to make my bottom lashes look fuller.

KM: Beach makeup tips?

BC: For beach makeup, I suggest going light - conceal any dark spots with a shade that matches your skin, conceal under eyes with a slightly lighter shade just to give a little contour, powder with a translucent powder, mascara, lip colour, eyebrows and highlight and you're good to go! (I know it still sounds like alot)

KM: What’s your signature summer look?

BC: My signature summer look would have to be a flawless foundation, no eyeshadow look, lots of highlight and nude lips.

KM: Top things makeup wearers should never leave the house without?

BC: Your lipstick or lip gloss - if your lip colour gets eaten off throughout the day it can completely ruin your look. Also, a powder just to keep the face in check - there's a difference between dewy and oily.

Keep up with Brittykatx on her social media:

YouTube: Brittykatx


bottom of page